Thursday, April 19, 2007

Roundup of the ASCAP Awards

Last night was the 24th annual American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) awards. Held at the Kodak Theater in Los Angeles, the awards honor those songwriters that show outstanding talent in today's music business.

Top honors fro Songwriter of the year went to Johntá Austin and Jermaine Dupri. "Because of You" and "Be Without You", shared the top spot for song of the year, and EMI Publishing claimed the top spot for Publisher of the year.

Special Honors were handed out to both Mellisa Etheridge, and the All American Rejects.
Etheridge was honored with the distinguished ASCAP Founders Award to recognize her pioneering contributions to the music industry.

The All American Rejects were given the ASCAP Vanguard Award for their impact on the music business that helped shape the future of music.

Click Here for Complete Story
Click here for the complete list of winners.

No comments: